Jamaica National Heritage Trust - About The Trust

About JNHT - Board of Trustees


• Mrs. Laleta Davis-Mattis - Chairman
• Mr. Basil Naar – Vice-Chairman
• Mr. Dorrick Gray – Executive Director, Jamaica National Heritage Trust (Ex Officio)
• Mr. Zachary Beier - Jamaica Archaeological Society
• Mr. Vivian Crawford - Institute of Jamaica
• Dr. Julian Cresser - University of the West Indies
• Ms. Joy Douglas – Ministerial Designate
• Ms. Eppie Delorie Edwards - Jamaica Historical Society
• Mr. Peter Francis - Jamaica Institute of Architects
• Mr. Peter Knight - Government Town Planner, CEO/ National Environment & Planning Agency (Ex Officio)
• Dr. Janice Lindsay – Ministerial Designate
• Mr. Hugh Nash - Ministerial Designate
• Mr. Tyrone Robinson - Ministerial Designate
• Mrs. Elizabeth Stair - CEO/Commissioner of Lands - National Land Agency (Ex Officio)
• Mr. Patrick Stanigar - Ministerial Designate


Ever since the capture of Jamaica by the English from the Spanish in 1655, the need for fortification became immediate because of the...



The Morant Bay Courthouse, which was destroyed by fire on Monday, February 19, 2007, is an important part of St. Thomas's history.



Built in 1885 of masonry and timber, the Simms building exhibits a combination of Gothic and Georgian features; the projecting...